The scan is not the test. Neither one is the audit.
A reference for merchants and payment service providers on what actually gets tested under PCI DSS: the quarterly ASV scan, the penetration test behind it, the segmentation boundary you claimed, and the party who decides which of them you file.
PCI SSC publishes PCI DSS only through a click-through licence, so this site does not reprint clause numbers it has not read. Every line below says which document it came from.
The standard is behind a licence gate. Here is the honest register.
Almost every page that ranks for PCI testing quotes clause numbers. Very few of them opened the standard, because you cannot: the PCI Security Standards Council serves every PCI DSS document from a library that requires you to accept a licence agreement first. So this site keeps a register. Confirmed lines print their reference. Unread lines print a mask.
Confirmed lines6
Each of these was quoted from a page on pcisecuritystandards.org that we opened and can link to. The reference and its cadence both come from that page, not from another website.
- External vulnerability scans by an ASV 11.3.2 PCI SSC resource guide, 10 July 2024: Requirement 11.3.2 "requires evidence of passing external scans, performed by an ASV, at least once every three months".
- Quarterly external scans, ASV performed 11.3.2.1 PCI SSC FAQ 1234: the requirement "addresses the need for quarterly external vulnerability scans to be performed by a PCI SSC Approved Scanning Vendor (ASV)".
- Internal scans and their remediation 11.3.1 PCI SSC FAQ 1152: for internal scans, "vulnerabilities are resolved by the entity according to PCI DSS Requirement 11.3.1".
- Scanning cadence: once every three months REQ 11 PCI SSC FAQ 1087: internal and external scans and any required remediation must be completed "at least once every three months", with 90 days the maximum gap.
- Third-party service provider oversight 12.8 / 12.9 PCI SSC FAQ 1312: the customer must monitor its providers' compliance status, at least annually, whether or not those providers are themselves validated.
- E-commerce payment page script controls 6.4.3 / 11.6.1 PCI SSC bulletin, 30 January 2025: effective 31 March 2025, and removed from SAQ A in the January 2025 revision of that questionnaire.
Masked lines6
These are real obligations. We know they exist, and in several cases PCI SSC has described them in public. What we could not read is the clause text, so we do not quote a number or a frequency for them.
- External penetration testing •••• Requirement 11 is the area that covers regularly testing networks, and penetration testing sits inside it. The clause reference and the cadence are in PCI DSS v4.0.1, which we could not open.
- Internal penetration testing •••• Same position, same gap. Take the clause and the interval from your copy of the standard or from your assessor, not from a blog.
- Segmentation penetration testing •••• Confirmed to exist: PCI SSC's own CTO described Requirement 11.3.4 in PCI DSS v3.2 as asking organizations "to perform penetration tests on the boundaries of their cardholder data environments". v3.2.1 retired on 31 March 2024 and we have not read the v4.x wording.
- Segmentation testing every six months •••• In v3.2 this was an additional requirement for service providers, published by PCI SSC as Requirement 11.3.4.1. Whether v4.x keeps that split and that interval is not something this site can show you.
- What the test report must contain •••• PCI SSC publishes an information supplement on penetration testing. It is in the same gated library. There is no PCI SSC report template for a penetration test in the way there is for an ASV scan.
- Who is allowed to perform the test •••• Tester independence and competence requirements are in the unread clause text. DORA states its tester requirements in law, and we quote those instead where they apply.
HTTP 403
What happens when you fetch the standard
A request for PCI-DSS-v4_0_1.pdf from the Council's document host returns an HTML page, not a PDF: "Agreement is required to access this document." The library is free and the licence is generous, but it needs a human to click ACCEPT, which is why an automated reference like this one has to stop there and say so. Every archived copy we checked is a capture of the same gate. Your QSA has the document; so will you, once you accept the licence.
This register is the reason the rest of the page is worth reading. Where a claim is confirmed it is quoted and linked. Where it is not, you get a mask and a pointer to the document that settles it. Full working is in the guides.
A scan tells you what is known. A test tells you what is reachable.
These two are treated as interchangeable in vendor marketing and in half the procurement questionnaires in Europe. They are not interchangeable, they are bought from different suppliers, and only one of them has a published pass mark.
The ASV will produce a scan report that details the results of the vulnerability scan – this scan report is not an indication that any other PCI DSS requirements have been reviewed or are in place.
PCI Security Standards Council, FAQ 1234, June 2025
| ASV scan | Penetration test | |
|---|---|---|
| Who may perform it | A company on the PCI SSC list of Approved Scanning Vendors, using that vendor's own tested scan solution | An independent tester. PCI SSC operates no equivalent approval list for penetration testers |
| What it is | External vulnerability scanning of internet-facing systems, largely automated, with vendor scripts and manual analysis on top | Manual, adversarial work that chains findings together. PCI SSC's own guidance says testing a segmentation boundary "needs to involve more than just port scanning" |
| Frequency | At least once every three months, with 90 days the maximum gap, plus rescans until the result passes | Set by the standard and by significant change. We do not print an interval we have not read |
| Pass criterion | For external scans, nothing scoring 4.0 or higher on CVSS, and no automatic-failure condition such as a default account | None exists. A test produces findings and evidence, not a score |
| What you file | The ASV's report on the official template, plus an Attestation of Scan Compliance | A report and retest evidence. PCI SSC publishes no template for it |
| Does it prove compliance | No. The scan report says nothing about any other requirement | No. It is evidence for a small number of control areas, deeply |
-
F-01
Four passing quarters, not four scans
PCI SSC expects an entity to show clean scans "at least once every three months for the previous four quarters", for both external and internal environments. A period may be evidenced by a collection of scans and rescans rather than one clean sweep, but repeated failures caused by poor remediation do not count.
-
F-02
Outsourced payments do not remove the scan
In PCI DSS v4.x, external ASV scanning was added to SAQ A. It applies to an e-commerce page that redirects to a provider or embeds the provider's payment form, because that page is what an attacker changes in order to reach the payment.
-
F-03
A denial-of-service finding does not fail you
PCI SSC has instructed ASVs that a vulnerability with a CVSS confidentiality impact and integrity impact of None "must not be ranked as a failure". Losing availability is a real problem; it is not a cardholder data exposure.
The long version, with each quote in context, is in ASV scan or penetration test.
Scope is the first decision and the one that changes the bill
Everything else on this page depends on where the cardholder data environment stops. Segmentation is how you make that boundary smaller, and testing is how you show the boundary is real rather than drawn on a diagram.
This needs to involve more than just port scanning from outside network segments to determine if there are any open ports. It should test remote access mechanisms, try to hop through administrator workstations, and look at any shared services networks that might allow an attacker some advantage in getting into the in-scope environment.
Jacob Ansari, QSA, on segmentation testing, published by PCI Security Standards Council
Significant change, as PCI SSC defines it
Several requirements are triggered by a significant change rather than by the calendar. This is the Council's own list, quoted from the "Description of Timeframes Used in PCI DSS Requirements" section of PCI DSS v4.0 via FAQ 1317. It is worth pinning above an architecture team's desk.
- New hardware, software, or networking equipment added to the CDE.
- Any replacement or major upgrades of hardware and software in the CDE.
- Any changes in the flow or storage of account data.
- Any changes to the boundary of the CDE and/or to the scope of the PCI DSS assessment.
- Any changes to the underlying supporting infrastructure of the CDE (including, but not limited to, changes to directory services, time servers, logging, and monitoring).
- Any changes to third party vendors/service providers (or services provided) that support the CDE or meet PCI DSS requirements on behalf of the entity.
Read that fourth line again. A change to the scope of the assessment is itself a significant change, which is why a scoping exercise that quietly grows the boundary in March creates work in April.
Segmentation, cloud boundaries and what an assessor looks for are covered in segmentation testing.
Which tests apply to you, and which of them we can actually source
Answer five questions about your role, your volume, your data and your architecture. The slip prints the test lines that apply, the route you validate by, the evidence an assessor will ask for and where segmentation testing lands. Lines whose frequency we could not source are marked as such rather than guessed.
Interactive mode is not available. You can read the full reference content below. No answers are assessed and no result is calculated.
The scope finder needs JavaScript. The reference below carries everything it would tell you, unfiltered: every test line, every validation route, every piece of evidence and every scope note.
Test lines
- External vulnerability scan by an ASV. Automated external scanning by a company on the PCI SSC Approved Scanning Vendor list. PCI SSC states the requirement calls for evidence of passing external scans at least once every three months, and this applies to e-commerce pages that only redirect to a provider as well as to a full cardholder data environment.
- Internal vulnerability scan. Scanning inside the cardholder data environment on the same three-month clock, with what it finds resolved rather than merely listed. Where a provider runs the whole environment, its scanning covers those systems and its attestation becomes your evidence.
- External penetration test. Manual, adversarial testing of the internet-facing perimeter of the cardholder data environment. Requirement 11 is the area that covers regularly testing networks; the clause reference and the interval are in the part of the standard behind the licence gate.
- Internal penetration test. Testing from inside the network on the assumption that an attacker already has a foothold. It answers the question a scan cannot: what one compromised machine turns into.
- Segmentation test. Testing the boundary you rely on to keep systems out of scope. PCI SSC guidance is explicit that this is more than port scanning: it should test remote access mechanisms, administrator workstations and shared services networks.
- Remediation and retest. Fixing what was found and showing it was fixed. A scan period is passed only once the rescans pass, and a penetration-test finding with no dated retest is an open finding.
- Retest on significant change. Several requirements fire on significant change rather than on the calendar, and PCI SSC publishes the list of activities that count.
How you validate
- Top-tier merchant. At six million transactions and above you are Level 1 for Visa, Mastercard and Discover: an annual Report on Compliance and an Attestation of Compliance. American Express sets its Level 1 at 2.5 million of its own transactions, so that programme will treat you the same way.
- Second-tier merchant. Between one and six million, Visa and Mastercard both place you at Level 2: an annual Self-Assessment Questionnaire. Mastercard adds that a Level 2 merchant completing SAQ A, SAQ A-EP or SAQ D must additionally engage a QSA or a certified internal security assessor for validation.
- Lower-tier merchant. Below one million you fall into Visa Level 3, Mastercard Level 3 or 4 and Discover Level 3: an annual Self-Assessment Questionnaire, which some brands only require on request. Mastercard states that Level 4 merchants must comply with PCI DSS even though validation to Mastercard is not required.
- Merchant level not stated. The level comes from your annual transaction count with each brand separately, and the thresholds differ: six million for Visa, Mastercard and Discover, 2.5 million for American Express. Your acquirer holds the number and will tell you which document you file.
- Service provider, upper tier. Above 300,000 transactions a year, Visa and Discover both place a service provider at Level 1: an annual on-site assessment by a QSA and an Attestation of Compliance. Visa requires QSA validation before a provider can be listed on its Global Registry of Service Providers.
- Service provider, lower tier. Below 300,000 transactions, Visa accepts a signed SAQ D or an Attestation of Compliance with a QSA signature, and Discover accepts SAQ D for Service Providers. Mastercard draws the same 300,000 line for data storage entities and payment facilitators.
- Service provider level not stated. Volume is not the only trigger. Mastercard places every third-party processor, token service provider, payment gateway and 3-D Secure provider at Level 1 whatever the transaction count. Confirm the category with the brand or with the entity that accepts your compliance.
Evidence an assessor expects
- A written scope. What is inside the cardholder data environment, what connects to it, and why anything else is out. An assessor starts here, and a boundary that exists only in a diagram is the most common way a project loses a month.
- ASV scan reports on the official template, plus the Attestation of Scan Compliance. PCI SSC recognizes only its own forms: a vendor certificate is not evidence of anything.
- Passing scans across four consecutive quarters, external and internal, together with the rescans that brought each period to a pass.
- Internal scan remediation records. Requirement 11.3.1 is satisfied by resolving what the internal scan found, so the fix trail is the evidence rather than the scan output.
- The penetration test report and its retest. Scope traceable to your documented cardholder data environment, exploitation shown rather than asserted, and a separately dated retest for everything you fixed.
- Segmentation test evidence. Not a port scan summary: attempts against remote access, administrator workstations and shared services networks, with what happened to each of them.
- A recorded decision about segmentation. If you cannot say whether you are segmented, an assessor has to treat the whole network as in scope until you show otherwise.
- Your providers' Attestations of Compliance, covering the services they actually run for you and no more than twelve months old. A merchant SAQ A attestation handed over by a provider is not sufficient evidence of that provider's own compliance.
- An account data inventory. Where the primary account number is stored, in what form, and what deletes it. Storage is the decision that makes every other requirement harder.
- Evidence that sensitive authentication data is not retained after authorization. Every brand relief programme starts with this condition, and so does every forensic investigation.
- A change record you can hand over. Several requirements fire on significant change, so the list of changes is what shows whether they fired.
Where this leaves your scope
- Your scope depends on a boundary. That is the right answer commercially and it comes with an obligation: the boundary has to be demonstrated, not asserted.
- Everything connected is in scope. There is no segmentation test to run, and no reduction either. Costing a segmentation project against a full-estate assessment is usually the first thing worth doing.
- Scope is undecided, so assume the maximum. A scoping exercise is the cheapest engagement available and the only one that changes the price of all the others.
- You own the whole environment. Internal scanning, internal testing and the segmentation boundary are all yours to evidence, and nobody else's attestation covers them.
- Cloud moves the work, not the duty. The provider covers the layers it runs and attests to them; the configuration, identity model and network boundaries you built on top are yours. PCI SSC published guidance in September 2024 specifically on scoping micro-segmented and multi-cloud environments.
- Outsourcing changes the scope, not the obligation. American Express puts it plainly: outsourcing may change the scope of your assessment, but you are still required to complete and report an annual assessment once a year and, where applicable, external quarterly network scans every 90 days.
- A mixed estate needs a written split. Requirements 12.8 and 12.9 exist because the line between what you run and what a provider runs is exactly where evidence goes missing.
- Your redirect page is in scope for scanning. PCI SSC added external ASV scanning to SAQ A in v4.x for this case: the page you host is what an attacker modifies in order to reach a payment you never handle.
- Nothing ticked. If no account data is stored, transmitted, processed or redirected by anything you run, the real question is whether you are in scope at all, and that is a conversation with your acquirer.
Your role in the payment chain
A company can be both. A merchant that also stores or processes account data on behalf of other merchants is a service provider for that part of its business.
Annual card transactions
Each brand counts only its own transactions and sets its own thresholds, so this is a band rather than a level. Mastercard determines the level from the most recent 52-week period.
Network segmentation
Segmentation is what keeps systems out of scope. If you rely on it, you have to be able to show that it holds.
Where the environment runs
This decides how much of the evidence is yours to produce and how much arrives as somebody else's attestation.
Five brands, five thresholds, one acquirer who decides
PCI SSC writes the standard and enforces nothing. Whether you validate, at what level, and on what document is set by the card brands and administered by your acquirer. The thresholds below come from each brand's own published programme page, and they do not agree with one another.
| Brand | Top tier begins at | Levels | What the top tier files |
|---|---|---|---|
| Visa | Over 6 million Visa transactions a year, across all channels | Three merchant levels published | A Report on Compliance by a QSA, or by an internal resource if signed by an officer of the company, plus an Attestation of Compliance |
| Mastercard | More than 6 million combined Mastercard and Maestro transactions a year | Four | An annual PCI DSS assessment resulting in a Report on Compliance |
| American Express | 2.5 million American Express transactions a year, or by Amex designation | Four | An annual on-site assessment with a ROC Attestation of Compliance, or a STEP attestation where the merchant qualifies |
| Discover | 6 million or more Discover Network transactions a year | Three | An on-site assessment by a QSA, plus quarterly external scans by an ASV |
| JCB | One million transactions a year, for e-commerce, mail order and telephone order | No numbered levels | A yearly on-site review and a quarterly security scan |
-
F-04
The Council enforces nothing
PCI SSC says so in its own FAQ: it "will not be replacing the individual brands' compliance programs", does not manage compliance programmes and "does not impose any consequences for non-compliance". If someone tells you PCI will fine you, they mean your acquirer will pass on a brand assessment.
-
F-05
There is no PCI certificate
The only documents recognized for validation are the Council's own forms: the Report on Compliance, the Attestations of Compliance, the Self-Assessment Questionnaires and the Attestation of Scan Compliance. A certificate from a scanning vendor or a consultancy is not acceptable for evidencing compliance, and PCI SSC says entities that receive one should ask for the official template instead.
-
F-06
A provider attestation has a shelf life
PCI SSC treats a service provider's validation as current only while twelve months have not passed since it was completed. The attestation also has to cover the service you actually buy: a merchant SAQ A attestation from a provider is explicitly not sufficient evidence of that provider's compliance.
Who files what, and why an outsourced payment page did not remove your obligations, is worked through in merchant levels and validation.
Three testing regimes, one payment company
An EU payment institution can be inside all three at once. They come from different places, cover different scopes and are enforced by different people, so one test does not discharge another. What follows is quoted from the instruments themselves.
-
R-01Contract
PCI DSS
A private standard you accept through your acquirer agreement. It is not EU law, and no regulator supervises it.
- Applies because
- Your acquirer contract
- Scope
- The cardholder data environment
- Confirmed cadence
- Scans every 3 months
- Enforced by
- Brands and acquirers
-
R-02Regulation (EU) 2022/2554
DORA
Directly applicable law that applies because of what you are. Article 2 lists credit institutions, payment institutions, account information service providers, electronic money institutions, investment firms and more.
- Applies because
- Article 2 names you
- Scope
- Critical or important functions
- Testing programme
- At least yearly, Art. 24(6)
- Advanced testing
- TLPT every 3 years, Art. 26(1)
-
R-03Directive (EU) 2022/2555
NIS2
Transposed national law. For a DORA financial entity, Article 4 switches the substantive obligations off, because DORA is lex specialis. For everyone else in the payments supply chain it is live.
- Applies because
- You are an essential or important entity
- Scope
- Network and information systems
- Testing hook
- Article 21(2)(f)
- Enforced by
- National competent authority
-
E-01
DORA names penetration testing, in a list
Article 25(1) requires a testing programme that provides for "the execution of appropriate tests, such as vulnerability assessments and scans, open source analyses, network security assessments, gap analyses, physical security reviews, questionnaires and scanning software solutions, source code reviews where feasible, scenario-based tests, compatibility testing, performance testing, end-to-end testing and penetration testing".
-
E-02
The annual line is Article 24(6)
Financial entities other than microenterprises "shall ensure, at least yearly, that appropriate tests are conducted on all ICT systems and applications supporting critical or important functions". Article 24(4) adds that tests must be undertaken by independent parties, internal or external, with conflicts of interest avoided.
-
E-03
TLPT is a different animal from a PCI test
Under Article 26, identified entities carry out threat-led penetration testing "at least every 3 years", covering critical or important functions and performed "on live production systems". Article 27 sets tester requirements including certification or a formal code of conduct, an independent assurance or audit report, and professional indemnity insurance.
-
E-04
NIS2 never says penetration test
Article 21(2)(f) requires "policies and procedures to assess the effectiveness of cybersecurity risk-management measures", and that is the whole of the testing hook. Anyone quoting a NIS2 penetration-testing clause is quoting something that is not there.
The scopes are different shapes: PCI stops at the cardholder data environment, DORA follows critical or important functions, NIS2 covers network and information systems generally. A DORA threat-led test can absolutely cover the payment platform, but the report will not answer the questions your QSA asks about the cardholder data environment, and a PCI test will not satisfy an authority expecting a TLPT attestation. The overlap is worth planning for; the substitution is not available. Detail in PCI DSS, DORA and NIS2.
Four long answers
Each one is sourced line by line, and each says where the sourcing stops.
-
ASV scan or penetration test? Which one PCI actually asks for
They are bought from different suppliers, they answer different questions, and only one of them has a published pass mark. Here is each one, sourced.
Read -
Segmentation testing: proving the boundary you claimed
Segmentation is the only lever that makes a PCI programme smaller. It also creates the one claim you have to demonstrate rather than assert.
Read -
Merchant levels and validation: who decides what you file
PCI SSC writes the standard and enforces nothing. Five brands set five sets of thresholds, and your acquirer administers all of them at once.
Read -
PCI DSS, DORA and NIS2: three testing regimes, one payment firm
A European payment institution can be inside all three at once. They have different scopes, different testers and different enforcers, and one test does not discharge another.
Read
The ones that arrive by email
Short answers. Where the honest answer is that we could not read the source, the answer says so.
Does PCI DSS require a penetration test?
Yes. Requirement 11 is the requirement area for regularly testing systems and networks, and penetration testing sits inside it. What this site does not print is the v4.x clause number or the interval, because PCI SSC distributes the standard behind a click-through licence and we have not read it. Take both from your own copy of PCI DSS v4.0.1 or from your assessor, and be careful with any page that quotes them without saying where it read them.
Is an ASV scan a penetration test?
No. An ASV scan is external vulnerability scanning performed by a company PCI SSC has approved and whose scan solution it has tested in a validation laboratory. PCI SSC states that the resulting report "is not an indication that any other PCI DSS requirements have been reviewed or are in place". A penetration test is manual work that chains findings together, and the Council's own guidance on segmentation testing says it needs to involve more than port scanning.
How often do we need an ASV scan?
At least once every three months. PCI SSC's 2024 resource guide describes Requirement 11.3.2 as requiring evidence of passing external scans, performed by an ASV, at least once every three months, and its FAQ treats 90 days as the maximum gap between scans. Internal scanning runs on the same clock, and both need the rescans that brought the period to a pass.
Our payments are fully outsourced. Do we still need to scan?
If you have e-commerce pages, yes. PCI DSS v4.x added external ASV scanning to SAQ A, and PCI SSC states it applies to a merchant page that redirects transactions to a compliant provider or that embeds the provider's payment page or form. The reasoning is direct: your page is what an attacker changes in order to reach a payment you never handle.
What is segmentation testing and do we need it?
It is testing the boundary you rely on to keep systems out of scope. You need it if you claim that boundary. PCI SSC published segmentation penetration testing as Requirement 11.3.4 in PCI DSS v3.2, effective 1 February 2018, with a six-month interval as an additional requirement for service providers under 11.3.4.1. That version retired on 31 March 2024 and we have not read the v4.x wording, so confirm the current clause and interval with your assessor.
Who decides whether we file a Report on Compliance or a questionnaire?
Your acquirer, applying the rules of each card brand. PCI SSC states that whether an entity is required to comply or to validate is at the discretion of the organizations that manage compliance programmes, such as a payment brand or an acquirer. The thresholds differ by brand: six million transactions for Visa, Mastercard and Discover, 2.5 million for American Express.
Is there such a thing as a PCI certificate?
No. PCI SSC recognizes only its own forms for validation: the Report on Compliance, the Attestations of Compliance, the Self-Assessment Questionnaires and the Attestation of Scan Compliance. It states that certificates or other documents purporting to show compliance are not authorized or validated by the Council and their use is not acceptable, including for the third-party requirements in 12.8 and 12.9.
Can our own team perform the testing?
For the assessment itself, no: Discover states that on-site assessments may only be performed by a Qualified Security Assessor or the merchant's own certified internal security assessor, and that no other third party is authorized. The penetration test is a separate engagement whose tester requirements are in the clause text we could not read. In practice an assessor will look at how independent the tester was from the people who built the system.
Does a DORA threat-led penetration test cover PCI?
No, and vice versa. DORA testing follows critical or important functions and, for TLPT, runs on live production systems at least every three years under Article 26. A PCI test follows the cardholder data environment. The two scopes overlap for a payment platform and can be planned together, but neither report answers the other regime's questions, and DORA's tester requirements in Article 27 are written into law in a way PCI's are not.
Why does this site refuse to print requirement 11.4?
Because we could not open the document that would confirm it. Fetching PCI DSS v4.0.1 from the Council's document host returns a licence gate, not a PDF, and every archived copy we checked is a capture of the same gate. Numbers repeated between websites are not a source. The register at the top of this page lists every reference we did confirm, with the page each one came from.
Sources
- FAQ 1234: I have had an external vulnerability scan completed by an ASV, does this mean I am PCI DSS compliant? Requirement 11.3.2.1 and quarterly ASV scanning; the scan report is not an indication that any other requirement is in place.
- Resource Guide: Vulnerability Scans and Approved Scanning Vendors Requirement 11.3.2 requires evidence of passing external scans, performed by an ASV, at least once every three months.
- FAQ 1087: For vulnerability scans, what is meant by quarterly or at least once every three months? Internal and external scans and remediation at least once every three months; 90 days is the maximum gap.
- FAQ 1152: Can entities be PCI DSS compliant without four passing scans? What a clean scan is, the CVSS 4.0 external threshold, and Requirement 11.3.1 for internal remediation.
- FAQ 1604: Do ASV scans in SAQ A apply to merchants with webpages that redirect to TPSPs or include embedded iframes? Requirements 11.3.2 and 11.3.2.1 were added to SAQ A in PCI DSS v4.x.
- FAQ 1317: What is meant by significant change in PCI DSS? The list of activities included under Significant Change in PCI DSS v4.0.
- FAQ 1220: Are compliance certificates recognized for PCI DSS validation? Only official PCI SSC forms are recognized, including the Attestation of Scan Compliance for ASV scans.
- FAQ 1004: Does the PCI Security Standards Council enforce compliance? The Council does not replace the brands' compliance programmes.
- FAQ 1282 and FAQ 1312: third-party service providers and Requirement 12.8 Monitoring provider compliance at least annually, and the twelve-month currency of a provider validation.
- PCI SSC CTO on segmentation penetration testing (Requirement 11.3.4, PCI DSS v3.2) Penetration tests on cardholder data environment boundaries, effective 1 February 2018.
- 4 Things to Know About PCI DSS in 2018 (Requirement 11.3.4.1) Segmentation penetration testing at least every six months, as an additional requirement for service providers in v3.2.
- Payment security insights with Jacob Ansari, QSA What a segmentation test has to do beyond port scanning.
- New Information Supplement: PCI DSS Scoping and Segmentation Guidance for Modern Network Architectures Zero trust, micro-segmentation and multi-cloud scoping guidance, published 9 September 2024.
- Account information security program and PCI Visa merchant and service provider levels, and the statement that Visa manages all data security compliance enforcement and validation.
- Site Data Protection (SDP) Program and PCI Four merchant levels, service provider categories, and the 52-week measurement period.
- Data security for merchants and service providers Four levels from 2.5 million transactions down, and the statement that outsourcing does not remove the annual assessment.
- Identify your merchant level and validation requirements Three merchant levels, and who may perform an on-site assessment.
- JCB Data Security Program The one-million-transaction split and the quarterly security scan.
- Regulation (EU) 2022/2554 (DORA) Article 2 scope, Article 24 testing programme, Article 25 test types, Article 26 TLPT, Article 27 tester requirements.
- Directive (EU) 2022/2555 (NIS2) Article 21(2) measures and Article 4 on sector-specific Union legal acts.